Moon of the Crusted Snow

By (author): Waubgeshig Rice

2023 Canada Reads Longlist Selection

National Bestseller

Winner of the 2019 OLA Forest of Reading Evergreen Award

Shortlisted for the 2019 John W. Campbell Memorial Award

Shortlisted for the 2019/20 First Nation Communities READ Indigenous Literature Award

2020 Burlington Library Selection; 2020 Hamilton Reads One Book One Community Selection; 2020 Region of Waterloo One Book One Community Selection; 2019 Ontario Library Association Ontario Together We Read Program Selection; 2019 Women’s National Book Association’s Great Group Reads; 2019 Amnesty International Book Club Pick

January 2020 Reddit r/bookclub pick of the month

“This slow-burning thriller is also a powerful story of survival and will leave readers breathless.” — Publishers Weekly

“Rice seamlessly injects Anishinaabe language into the dialogue and creates a beautiful rendering of the natural world … This title will appeal to fans of literary science-fiction akin to Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers looking for a fresh voice in indigenous fiction.” — Booklist

A daring post-apocalyptic novel from a powerful rising literary voice

With winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark. Cut off, people become passive and confused. Panic builds as the food supply dwindles. While the band council and a pocket of community members struggle to maintain order, an unexpected visitor arrives, escaping the crumbling society to the south. Soon after, others follow.

The community leadership loses its grip on power as the visitors manipulate the tired and hungry to take control of the reserve. Tensions rise and, as the months pass, so does the death toll due to sickness and despair. Frustrated by the building chaos, a group of young friends and their families turn to the land and Anishinaabe tradition in hopes of helping their community thrive again. Guided through the chaos by an unlikely leader named Evan Whitesky, they endeavor to restore order while grappling with a grave decision.

Blending action and allegory, Moon of the Crusted Snow upends our expectations. Out of catastrophe comes resilience. And as one society collapses, another is reborn.

AUTHOR

Waubgeshig Rice

Waubgeshig Rice is an author and journalist from Wasauksing First Nation on Georgian Bay. He has written three fiction titles, and his short stories and essays have been published in numerous anthologies. His most recent novel, Moon of the Crusted Snow, was published in 2018 and became a national bestseller. He graduated from Ryerson University’s journalism program in 2002, and spent the bulk of his journalism career at CBC, most recently as host of Up North, the afternoon radio program for northern Ontario. He lives in Sudbury with his wife and two sons. Legacy is his debut novel.



Reviews

“This slow-burning thriller is also a powerful story of survival and will leave readers breathless.” — Publishers Weekly
“Rice seamlessly injects Anishinaabe language into the dialogue and creates a beautiful rendering of the natural world … This title will appeal to fans of literary science fiction akin to Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers looking for a fresh voice in indigenous fiction.” — Booklist
“The creeping tension and vividly drawn landscapes make Waubgeshig Rice’s characters’ choices all the more real.” — Toronto Star
“Moon of the Crusted Snow sets itself apart — an apocalypse novel in reverse.” — Globe and Mail
“Rice complicates and demands a rethinking of the apocalyptic category itself, which is the book’s greatest revelation and strength … Rice’s writing is measured and he has a lovely ear for the cadence of conversation — humour, rage, and introspection all coming through the dialogue … Rice’s story teaches, but it’s not didactic; it’s original, and somehow takes the frenetic pace of a crisis, slows it down, and shows us its parts.” — Canadian Notes & Queries
“Perfect for those who read Iain Reid’s Foe this summer and are looking for something in the same vein.” — The Globe and Mail
“All the ingredients that went into this novel are that much more fresh, and make the narrative so rich, because of the way Rice has succeeded in putting them all together.” — CBC Books
“This is my go-to pick for the year … it’s such a great book … it’s really got this great balance that makes it a go-to gift this season … really good, amazing storytelling.” — Jael Richardson on CBC q
“In addition to being a new spin on the tech-pocalypse, it’s also an eerie, slightly fabulist novel … If you want a thoughtful, uncanny, snow-bound read that will have you battening your hatches for winter and rethinking what apocalypse means, pick this one up ASAP.” — Book Riot’s Swords & Spaceships
“Moon of the Crusted Snow asks how do we live in a good way during the collapse of the infrastructure that supports modern life? For Evan Whitesky, the answer lies in rekindling Ojibwe, the old ways, language and culture. For other characters, when the food runs out, all options are on the table, no matter how gruesome. As the tensions between those surviving the end of modern civilization build to a harrowing conclusion, Rice deftly weaves tender family moments with his brutal survival scenes in the unforgiving northern Ontario winter. Chilling in the best way possible.” — Eden Robinson, award winning author of Monkey Beach and Son of a Trickster

Awards

  • Evergreen Award 2019, Winner
  • Excerpts & Samples ×
    2023 Canada Reads Longlist SelectionNational BestsellerWinner of the 2019 OLA Forest of Reading Evergreen AwardShortlisted for the 2019 John W. Campbell Memorial AwardShortlisted for the 2019/20 First Nation Communities READ Indigenous Literature Award2020 Burlington Library Selection; 2020 Hamilton Reads One Book One Community Selection; 2020 Region of Waterloo One Book One Community Selection; 2019 Ontario Library Association Ontario Together We Read Program Selection; 2019 Women’s National Book Association’s Great Group Reads; 2019 Amnesty International Book Club PickJanuary 2020 Reddit r/bookclub pick of the month“This slow-burning thriller is also a powerful story of survival and will leave readers breathless.” — Publishers Weekly“Rice seamlessly injects Anishinaabe language into the dialogue and creates a beautiful rendering of the natural world … This title will appeal to fans of literary science-fiction akin to Cormac McCarthy as well as to readers looking for a fresh voice in indigenous fiction.” — BooklistA daring post-apocalyptic novel from a powerful rising literary voiceWith winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark. Cut off, people become passive and confused. Panic builds as the food supply dwindles. While the band council and a pocket of community members struggle to maintain order, an unexpected visitor arrives, escaping the crumbling society to the south. Soon after, others follow.The community leadership loses its grip on power as the visitors manipulate the tired and hungry to take control of the reserve. Tensions rise and, as the months pass, so does the death toll due to sickness and despair. Frustrated by the building chaos, a group of young friends and their families turn to the land and Anishinaabe tradition in hopes of helping their community thrive again. Guided through the chaos by an unlikely leader named Evan Whitesky, they endeavor to restore order while grappling with a grave decision.Blending action and allegory, Moon of the Crusted Snow upends our expectations. Out of catastrophe comes resilience. And as one society collapses, another is reborn.Sales and Market BulletsA post-apocalyptic thriller set in Northeastern Ontario west of James BayAuthor is a high profile CBC journalist influential on Twitter with 24.8K followers (@waub)The book centers around a First Nation community of AnishinaabeHistorically, post-apocalyptic stories and themes haven’t been thoroughly explored from an Indigenous perspective in literary fictionExamines the ongoing impacts of settler colonialism on Indigenous communitiesA unique and compelling story about an Indigenous community by an Indigenous authorAudienceFor readers of Richard Wagamese’s Medicine WalkPromotional PlansPitch author to literary festivals across North America, esp. IFOA. Liaise with the author’s contacts at CBC (he is a high profile and influential journalist there with name recognition). Send to trade review publications for increased US exposure (Quill & Quire, Library Journal, Kirkus, Publishers Weekly, Booklist, etc.)Pitch reviews at major dailies (New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post)Pitch reviews at literary journals (The Malahat Review, Literary Review of Canada, Canadian Notes & Queries, The New Quarterly, Geist)

    Reader Reviews

    Accessibility Detail

    Table of contents navigation
    Print-equivalent page numbering
    Language tagging provided
    Short alternative textual descriptions
    EPUB Accessibility Specification 1.0 AA
    Accessibility summary
    This ebook was built to be accessibility-friendly but was not made through ECW’s GCA certified production pipeline. While best efforts have been made to meet WCAG 2.0 AA standards, the book has not been certified as conforming to WCAG by a third party.
    Single logical reading order
    Publisher contact for further accessibility information
    ascsofficer@ecwpress.com

    Details

    Dimensions:

    224 Pages
    0.52in5.5in * 8.5in

    Published:

    October 02, 2018

    City of Publication:

    Toronto

    Country of Publication:

    CA

    Publisher:

    ECW Press

    ISBN:

    9781770414006

    Book Subjects:

    FICTION / Literary

    Language:

    01

    No author posts found.

    Related Blog Posts

    There are no posts with this book.