my June

By (author): Danial Neil

In this hauntingly beautiful novel with its palette of blues and greys, Danial Neil explores the world of Reuben Dale after the sudden death from a stroke of his beloved wife, June. Neil takes us inside suffering to show us the thoughts and feelings of the one left behind. Lost without the woman he has loved and leaned on, Reuben wanders aimlessly for a time in the little town of Seaside on the Sunshine Coast where he had retired with his wife with expectations of leisure time to sail. But now their sailboat, my June, named after his wife, remains tied to the dock. Ironically, just when he is beginning to develop a new place for himself in the daily life of Seaside, Reuben finds his past rising up to confront him, to demand radically new measures. Filled with superb renderings of the subtle beauties of the Sunshine Coast, this is a novel that shows that the past can be revisioned so as to create a new life from what remains. In the end, which turns out to be not an end, Reuben begins to find he can become the person he has never believed possible.


Danial Neil

Danial Neil was born in New Westminster, British Columbia and grew up in North Delta. He began writing in his teens, journaling and writing poetry. He made a decision to be a writer in 1986 and took his first creative writing course in Langley with Alive magazine editor Rhody Lake. Danial worked steadily at his craft. His short story Grace was published in the 2003 Federation of BC Writers anthology edited by Susan Musgrave. He went on to participate in the Write Stretch Program with the Federation of BC Writers teaching free-verse poetry to children through the Delta Schoolboard. He won the poetry prize at the Surrey International Writers’ Conference four times and studied Creative Writing at UBC. His poetry and fiction articulate a close relationship with the land, its felt presence in his narrative and vision. He has written twenty-two novels since beginning his writing journey. He is the author of The Killing Jars (Trafford 2006), Flight of the Dragonfly (Borealis Press 2009), My June (Ronsdale Press 2014), The Trees of Calan Gray (Oolichan Books 2015), Dominion of Mercy (NeWest Press 2021). The Sum of One Man’s Pleasure is Danial’s sixth published novel. In addition to having his novels celebrated for their wonderfully crafted characters, he was a contributor to poetry anthology Worth More Standing published by Caitlin Press in 2022. Danial lives in Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada.


There are no awards found for this book.
Excerpts & Samples ×
There are no other resources for this book.

Reader Reviews



280 Pages
9in * 6in * .56in


September 30, 2014


Ronsdale Press



Book Subjects:

FICTION / Literary

Featured In:

All Books



No author posts found.

Related Blog Posts

There are no posts with this book.

Other books by Danial Neil