Books tagged: Legal

Showing 6 of 6 results

Image Decay

By Mark Lisac

Mark Lisac's Image Decay returns to the pugnacious world of backroom politics laid out in his award-nominated Where the Bodies Lie. Set again in that "unnamed capital city east of the Rockies," where the Brutalist architecture of the downtown core reflects the body politic laid ... Read more

Kill All the Lawyers

By William Deverell

 

“A bitingly funny whodunit. ” — Maclean’s

Arthur P. Besterman, criminal lawyer and reformed alcoholic, was the first to go. Counsel to Vancouver’s assorted shifters and grifters, Besterman almost always lost his cases. But a recent victory defending a low-life client ... Read more

Slander

By William Deverell

Slander is set in rainy, foggy Seattle. The narrator, Liz Finnegan, is a brash, bright, petite women’s rights lawyer. She’s 26, and a defender of abortion clinics (they’re being bombed by "Christian" rednecks), abused women, and related liberal causes. Her nemesis is a ... Read more

Stung

By William Deverell

 

Award–winning novelist William Deverell is back with a new Arthur Beauchamp legal thriller.

Lawyer Arthur Beauchamp is facing the most explosive trial of his career: the defence of seven boisterous environmentalists accused of sabotaging an Ontario plant that pumps out a ... Read more

Thirst for Justice

By David R. Boyd

 

“Fast and fierce” – Kirkus Reviews

For readers of John Grisham and William Deverell comes a political thriller ripped from today’s headlines. Lawyer and environmental activist David R. Boyd writes a riveting thriller about the psychological toll of a humanitarian crisis. ... Read more

Though the Heavens Fall

By Anne Emery

As 1995 dawns in the North of Ireland, Belfast is a city of army patrols, bombed-out buildings, and “peace walls” segregating one community from the other. But the IRA has called a ceasefire. So, it’s as good a time as any for Monty Collins and Father Brennan Burke to ... Read more