The Slip

By (author): Mark Sampson

In this wickedly funny novel, one bad afternoon and two regrettable comments make the inimitable Philip Sharpe go viral for all the worst reasons.

Dr. Philip Sharpe, absent-minded professor extraordinaire, teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto and is one of Canada?s most combative public intellectuals. But when a live TV debate with his fiercest rival goes horribly off the rails, an oblivious Philip says some things to her that he really shouldn?t have.

As a clip of Philip?s ?slip? goes viral, it soon reveals all the cracks and fissures in his marriage with his young, stay-at-home wife, Grace. And while the two of them try to get on the same side of the situation, things quickly spiral out of control.

Can Philip make amends and save his marriage? Is there any hope of salvaging his reputation? To do so, he?ll need to take a hard look at his on-air comments, and to conscript a band of misfits in a scheme to set things right.

AUTHOR

Mark Sampson

Mark Sampson is the author of the novels Off Book, Sad Peninsula, and The Slip, as well as a short-story collection, The Secrets men Keep, and a poetry collection, Weathervane. He has published fiction and poetry in literary journals across Canada. Mark lives in Toronto.


Reviews

The Slip is a fresh, funny, and thought-provoking book. In the tradition of Amis, Richler, and Wodehouse, Mark Sampson satirizes everything from contemporary gender, marriage, and parenting issues, to academe, politics, mass and social media. It all adds up to an entertaining and “penetrating” read.
– Richard Scarsbrook, author of Rockets Versus Gravity and The Indifference League

Riotous but astute.
– Publishers Weekly

A topical premise, one that ? Sampson pushes into some unexpected, and unexpectedly comic territory.
– Quill and Quire

A worthy read … compelling, human, relatable.
– Booklist

Entertainingly satiric … The Slip offers comedy with bite. It also reserves ample space for heart.
– Toronto Star

Awards

There are no awards found for this book.
Excerpts & Samples ×
In this wickedly funny novel, one bad afternoon and two regrettable comments make the inimitable Philip Sharpe go viral for all the worst reasons.

Dr. Philip Sharpe, absent-minded professor extraordinaire, teaches philosophy at the University of Toronto and is one of Canada?s most combative public intellectuals. But when a live TV debate with his fiercest rival goes horribly off the rails, an oblivious Philip says some things to her that he really shouldn?t have.

As a clip of Philip?s ?slip? goes viral, it soon reveals all the cracks and fissures in his marriage with his young, stay-at-home wife, Grace. And while the two of them try to get on the same side of the situation, things quickly spiral out of control.

Can Philip make amends and save his marriage? Is there any hope of salvaging his reputation? To do so, he?ll need to take a hard look at his on-air comments, and to conscript a band of misfits in a scheme to set things right.

Reader Reviews

Details

Dimensions:

280 Pages
8.5in * 5.5in * 0.8in
280gr

Published:

May 20, 2017

City of Publication:

Toronto

Country of Publication:

CA

Publisher:

Dundurn Press

ISBN:

9781459735750

Book Subjects:

FICTION / Humorous / General

Featured In:

All Books

Language:

eng

No author posts found.

Related Blog Posts

There are no posts with this book.