Dirty Sweet

By (author): John McFetridge

In the middle of the afternoon on a busy downtown Toronto street a man is shot in the head behind the wheel of his SUV. The killer drives away before the light changes. It could be road rage, or it could be a random act of violence.

It could be, but it isn’t. What it is, is opportunity. For everyone involved.

In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Christopher Brookmyre, Dirty Sweet is a fast-paced crime story following each character to a surprising end.

“McFetridge is an author to watch. He has a great eye for detail, and Toronto has never looked seedier.” — Globe and Mail

Dirty Sweet is an amusingly sordid tale that features amusingly sordid people . . . If more people wrote the kind of clean-as-a-whistle, no-fat prose McFetridge does, this reviewer would finish a lot more of their books.” — National Post

“The dubious fun is in the dialogue and details of a very entertaining and libidinous local debut.” — Toronto Star

AUTHOR

John McFetridge

John McFetridge has enjoyed wide critical acclaim for his six novels. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere was named a book of the year by Quill & Quire and Tumblin’ Dice was an Amazon Editors’ Pick. He lives in Toronto with his wife and two sons.


Awards

There are no awards found for this book.
Excerpts & Samples ×

In the middle of the afternoon on a busy downtown Toronto street a man is shot in the head behind the wheel of his SUV. The killer drives away before the light changes. It could be road rage, or it could be a random act of violence.

It could be, but it isn’t. What it is, is opportunity. For everyone involved.

In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Christopher Brookmyre, Dirty Sweet is a fast-paced crime story following each character to a surprising end.

“McFetridge is an author to watch. He has a great eye for detail, and Toronto has never looked seedier.” — Globe and Mail

Dirty Sweet is an amusingly sordid tale that features amusingly sordid people . . . If more people wrote the kind of clean-as-a-whistle, no-fat prose McFetridge does, this reviewer would finish a lot more of their books.” — National Post

“The dubious fun is in the dialogue and details of a very entertaining and libidinous local debut.” — Toronto Star

Reader Reviews

Details

Dimensions:

360 Pages
9in * 6in *
1.21lb

Published:

May 01, 2008

City of Publication:

Toronto

Country of Publication:

CA

Publisher:

ECW Press

ISBN:

9781550228298

Book Subjects:

FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Hard-Boiled

Featured In:

All Books

Language:

eng

Related Blog Posts

There are no posts with this book.