their biography

By Kevin Eckhoff

their biography
  • Currently 0 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Sign-up or sign-in to rate this book.


Would it be possible to compose a book that appears to be "about" its author, but is indirectly about something else, like identity or relationships or language? Maybe a book not written by a hero. .. but by many?

This was the challenge taken up by Kevin McPherson Eckhoff in ... Read more


Overview

Would it be possible to compose a book that appears to be "about" its author, but is indirectly about something else, like identity or relationships or language? Maybe a book not written by a hero. .. but by many?

This was the challenge taken up by Kevin McPherson Eckhoff in his fourth book, their biography: an organism of relationships. This collaborative memoir collages together word-portraits from friends, family, coworkers, strangers, robots, and even adversaries in order to create a silhouette of not a single person, but of the manacles that connect people to one another.

their biography is meant to make people think--it's broad array of voices and poetic/prosaic forms disturbs comfortable patterns of reading, and its subject is as much about the contributors as the author. Eclectic and desolate, confessional and dubious, this record of relationships defies authorship, biography, and individualism.

Fans of Gregory Betts's "Facebook Poem Project" or Rachel Zolf's Tolerance Project, along with anyone compelled by contemporary poetry and conceptual art, will connect with this pixelated investigation into identity, and the true meaning of 'self' as we and others define it.

Kevin Eckhoff

kevin mcpherson eckhoff is the author of rhapsodomancy (Coach House), and easy peasy (Snare). His work has been featured in Boredom Fighters (Tightrope) and Rogue Stimulus (Mansfield), as well as several international journals, including Descant, West Wind Review, Fact*Simile, Rampike, and offerta speciale . He lives and writes in Armstrong, British Columbia.

Reviews

Praise for Their Biography:
"It might be the best autobiography not written by its subject, and it's certainly the funniest. " - Jonathan Ball for This Magazine
Sometime between the time he was born and the fascimile he is now, kevin figured out that it's possible to change one's privileged nature by changing one's use. So, 'Use me' is what Their Biography begs - and by invoking this interconsumption of friendship and social cannibalism, kevin can only present kevin as a decommissioned object, sinking under the burden of an impossible individuality, yawning into the surreal latex of his own umbilical cord as he struggles to emerge. It's exactly this that makes Their Biography so deliciously malicious. - Trisha Low, author of The Compleat Purge

Reader Reviews

Tell us what you think!

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.