About The Author

Jean-Yves Soucy

Jean-Yves Soucy (1945-2017) was a writer, editor, publisher, journalist, scriptwriter, and mentor based in Montreal. Award-winning author of eleven books (novels, historical accounts, biographies), his writings have been translated into English, Spanish, German, Turkish, Romanian and Armenian. His books in English include Family Secrets, The Controversial & Schocking Story of the Dionne Quintuplettes (with Annette, Cécile and Yvonne Dionne) and A Summer Without Dawn with Agop J. Hacikyan.

Romeo Saganash was born in 1961 on the shores of a lake in his parents? tent near Waswanipi in Northern Quebec. Cree was the only language he heard and spoke for his first seven years before he was taken away to residential school. First Cree in Quebec to graduate in law, he served as Deputy Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Cree and was one of the principal authors of La Paix des Braves?a landmark agreement between the James Bay Cree and the Government of Quebec. He was the Member of Parliament for Abitibi-Baie James-Nunavik-Eeyou from 2011-2019.

Peter McCambridge, originally from Ireland, holds a BA in modern languages from Cambridge University, England, and has lived in Quebec City since 2003. He runs Québec Reads and founded QC Fiction, an imprint of Baraka Books. His translation of Eric Dupont’s La Fiancée américaine, Songs for the Cold of Heart, was shortlisted for both the 2018 Giller Prize and the 2018 Governor General’s Award for Translation. It has now been published worldwide, outside of Canada, by HarperCollins.

Books by Jean-Yves Soucy