Books tagged: Violence In Society

Showing 6 of 6 results

Among Silent Echoes

By Phyllis Dyson

Twenty-five years after her mother's brutal death made the headlines, Phyllis Dyson felt compelled to unearth the truth about her mother's illness. By chronicling the events of her childhood, uncovering family secrets and betrayals and gaining access to government documents, ... Read more

And Neither Have I Wings to Fly

By Thelma Wheatley

2014 Finalist for the Wales Book of the Year Award for Creative Non-Fiction
2014 Finalist for the MARTY People’s Choice Award for Literary Arts
2013 IPPY Bronze Medal Winner for Psychology/Mental Health

The shocking true story of the institutionalization and abuse of children ... Read more

Murdering Justice

By Jeffrey Shantz

Murdering Justice is the first book on lethal police force against resistance movements in Canada and the killings of activists involved in diverse social struggles. There is a powerful myth in Canadian society, one that shapes peoples' perceptions of themselves as Canadians, ... Read more

The Narrows of Fear (Wapawikoscikanik)

By Carol Rose GoldenEagle

Finalist for the 2021 Rasmussen & Co. Indigenous Peoples' Writing Award

The Narrows of Fear (Wapawikoscikanik) weaves the stories of a group of women committed to helping one another. Despite abuse experienced by some, both in their own community and in residential schools, these ... Read more

Unatoned

By Brent LaPorte

 

For readers of Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son comes a heart-wrenching memoir that interrogates an abusive father and his dark legacy.

Children who experience physical, mental, and emotional trauma at the hands of a parent often grow into adults who suffer from mental ... Read more