Books tagged: Psychological

Showing 17-24 of 64 results

Dying Behaviour of Cats

By Marc Labriola

Marc Labriola's Dying Behaviour of Cats, the 2017 Klonsky Award winner, is a daring exploration of the dark nights of the soul for Theo Galli, an agoraphobic imprisoned in his own house for seven years. When hurricane Catalina hits and streets are flooded, a leopard escapes ... Read more

Fugue in Green

By Brenda Clews

Brenda Clews's compelling book of poetry, Fugue in Green, is a gothic fairy tale in the tradition of Marie-Claire Blais' Mad Shadows and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, with a monster, abuse and ghosts haunting the stanzas. Two teens struggle with their psychotic mother as they ... Read more

Girl Minus X

By Anne Stone

Fifteen-year-old Dany is trying to survive with her little sister, Mac, in a world collapsing under the weight of a slow, creeping virus that erodes memory. As their identities slip away from them, the late-stage infected are quarantined by the Ministry of Disease Control in ... Read more

Grayling

By Gillian Wigmore

" . . . a spirited journey story I found as irresistible as the powerful river that carries us through the beautiful and treacherous northern landscape. "– Jack Hodgins author of, The Master of Happy Endings, Broken Ground, A Passion For Narrative.

After surviving a health ... Read more

How the Blessed Live

By Susannah M. Smith

On an isolated island in Lake Ontario live twins Lucy and Levi and their father, Daniel. While Daniel desperately mourns for his dead wife, Levi and Lucy grow up ever more entwined in their enchanted childhood of fairy tales and rhymes.

But when a fissure in the fragile cocoon ... Read more

If Clara

By Martha Baillie
Narrator Jennifer Dale

In If Clara, nobody stands on firm ground. Daisy, a writer confined to her home, her leg in a cast from hip to ankle, receives a parcel containing the manuscript of a novel about a Syrian refugee and is asked to pose as its writer. Julia, the curator at the Kleinzahler Gallery, ... Read more

Impurity

By Larry Tremblay
Translated by Sheila Fischman

Bestselling author Alice Livingstone is dead. She leaves her philosopher husband, Antoine, to deal with her legacy, towards which he feels increasingly estranged. Confronted with his wife’s much-reported disappearance, Antoine revisits their past relationship: open and liberal ... Read more

Insignificance

By James Clammer

For fans of Ducks, Newburyport and Rivka Galchen’s Atmospheric Disturbances, a day-in-the-life of a plumber whose troubles are all coming to a head.

In an addictive, interior-monologue lyric novel, we meet Joseph. Back on the job after a long leave, he’s not at all sure ... Read more