Books tagged: Noir

Showing 1-8 of 30 results

Body on Mount Royal, The

By Montrose David
Introduction by Kevin Burton Smith

Finally, after 58 years The Body on Mount Royal is back in print, starring hard-drinking private dick, Russell Teed.

From the back cover of the 1953 edition:
Take a brutally beaten body, a lonely spot on Montreal's famous mountain, and a buxum brunette whose embrace brings treachery. ... Read more

Border Markers

By Jenny Ferguson

Shortlistedfor the Cover Design Award at the 2016 Alberta Book Publishing Awards!

Afterthe accidental death of a teenaged friend, the Lansing family has split alongfault lines previously hidden under a patina of suburban banality. Every familyhas secrets, but for the Lansings ... Read more

Cape Diamond

By Ron Corbett

Cape Diamond, the second book in the Frank Yakabuski Mystery series, is atmospheric and action-packed. Set near the Northern Divide — as was the first installment, Edgar Award nominee (Best Paperback Original), Ragged Lake — the book opens with Yakabuski called to investigate ... Read more

Carpenter from Montreal, The

By George Fetherling & George Fetherling

Worlds collide when a naïve young heiress takes a tumble for a bootlegger with a murderous temper and his business partner falls in love with Montreal, the way Americans are prone to do. One world war has ended and a second is in the wings. In the space between, the neon-powered ... Read more

Carve the Heart

By A.G. Pasquella

Ex-con Jack Palace returns in a world of violence, heartbreak, and revenge.

Cassandra, the woman who broke Jack Palace’s heart, is suddenly back in his life. She owes $600,000 to a brutal gangster who has threatened her life, and she needs Jack’s help. Things start to get ... Read more

Dakghar

By Ashis Gupta

Based on true incidents, this complex novel remembers the staging of Tagore's play 'Dakghar' in a Warsaw ophanage run by Dr Janusz Korczak, days before 200 orphange children, staff and Dr Korczak were sent by railcars to the Treblinka Death Camp.

Five Ways to Disappear

By R.M. Greenaway

A dangerous undercover assignment nearly puts Dion in his grave.

North Vancouver RCMP officers Leith and Dion have a gruesome new mystery lying at their feet. Up in the breezy heights of Paradise Road, a craftsman has been spiked to his lawn by his own artwork. Was it an aesthetics-fuelled ... Read more

Honey

By Brenda Brooks

 

“Sinuous and captivating. ”— Foreword Reviews

Shortlisted for the 2019 Staunch Book Prize

For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love

When 24-year-old ... Read more