Books tagged: Noir

Showing 1-8 of 18 results

Body on Mount Royal, The

By Montrose David
Introduction by Kevin Burton Smith

Finally, after 58 years The Body on Mount Royal is back in print, starring hard-drinking private dick, Russell Teed.

From the back cover of the 1953 edition:
Take a brutally beaten body, a lonely spot on Montreal's famous mountain, and a buxum brunette whose embrace brings treachery. ... Read more

Border Markers

By Jenny Ferguson

After the accidental death of a teenaged friend, the Lansing family has split along fault lines previously hidden under a patina of suburban banality. Every family has secrets, but for the Lansings those secrets end up propelling them in different directions away from their ... Read more

Cape Diamond

By Ron Corbett

Cape Diamond, the second book in the Frank Yakabuski Mystery series, is atmospheric and action-packed. Set near the Northern Divide — as was the first installment, Edgar Award nominee (Best Paperback Original), Ragged Lake — the book opens with Yakabuski called to investigate ... Read more

Carpenter from Montreal, The

By George Fetherling & George Fetherling

Worlds collide when a naïve young heiress takes a tumble for a bootlegger with a murderous temper and his business partner falls in love with Montreal, the way Americans are prone to do. One world war has ended and a second is in the wings. In the space between, the neon-powered ... Read more

Honey

By Brenda Brooks

 

“Sinuous and captivating. ”— Foreword Reviews

Shortlisted for the 2019 Staunch Book Prize

For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love

When 24-year-old ... Read more

I Am Not Guilty

By Frances Shelley Wees
Introduction by Patricia Abbott

Set in and around post-war Toronto, I Am Not Guilty first appeared in a condensed form in the February 1954 Ladies' Home Journal. That same year, it was published in full by Doubleday as M'Lord, I Am Not Guilty. This Ricochet Books edition marks the first new edition since 1967. ... Read more

Only Pretty Damned

By Niall Howell

Niall Howell's Only Pretty Damned is a taut noir that takes you behind the big top, revealing rough and tumble characters, murderous plots, and crooked schemes designed to keep Rowland's World Class Circus afloat for another season. When Toby, former trapeze artist turned disgruntled ... Read more