Books tagged: Hispanic & Latino

Showing 7 of 7 results

Air Carnation

By Guadalupe Muro

Guadalupe Muro, recipient of the Raul Urtusan-Frances Harley Scholarship for Young Emerging Artists from Argentina, has always had her own unique way of experiencing life. When applied to her writing, Muro says she finally "felt like a dog deciding to be a dog. " Muro's Spanish ... Read more

Atacama

By Carmen Rodríguez

 

Firmly rooted in historical events, Atacama tells the story of Manuel Garay, the son of a communist miner/union leader and an anarchist organizer of working-class women, and Lucía Céspedes, the daughter of a fascist army officer and a socialite. A fateful turn of events leads ... Read more

In the Belly of the Horse

By Eliana Tobias

Second Place Winner, 2017 International Latino Book Awards (Best Latino Focused Fiction Book - English); Finalist for the 2018 Latino Books Into Movies Awards (Drama)

In the Belly of the Horse is a gripping story illuminating an historic period in the life of a Peruvian family ... Read more

The Country of Toó

By Rodrigo Rey Rosa
Translated by Stephen Henighan

This sumptuously written thriller asks probing questions about how we live with each other and with our planet.

The Cobra is a hard man in a brutal world. Expelled from El Salvador after a drug bust and working as a Guatemalan businessman’s enforcer, he meets and comes to ... Read more

The Red Album

By Chris Eaton

In the tradition of Borges, Nabakov, and Bolaño, The Red Album is a work of fiction that questions historical authenticity and authority. Divided into two parts, the book begins with an edited and footnoted narrative of dubious origins. In the second part, a section of "documents" ... Read more

The Street Belongs to Us

By Karleen Pendleton Jimenez

A sweet middle-grade chapter book about two best friends who transform their torn-up street into a world where imaginations can run wild.

In 1984 Los Angeles, Alex is a tomboy who would rather wear her hair short and her older brother's hand-me-downs, and Wolf is a troubled ... Read more