Books tagged: Biographical

Showing 25-32 of 35 results

Swim

By Marianne Apostolides

Breathe on four. Define your terms. What is this desire?Attuned to a body in motion, Swim pulls the reader beneath the logic of prose, into the eroticism of language itself. The arcing rhythm of a body breathing - a woman marking her birth as she swims in a pool - sustains the ... Read more

Symphony No. 3

By Chris Eaton

Symphony No. 3 follows the life of renowned French composer Camille Saint-Saëns as he ascends from child prodigy to worldwide fame. As his acclaim grows in Paris, the musical world around him clamours with competitors, dilettantes, turncoats and revenge seekers. At the height ... Read more

Testament

By Vickie Gendreau
Translated by Aimee Wall

On June 6, 2012, Vickie Gendreau was diagnosed with a brain tumour. In between treatments, between hospital stays and her "room of her own," she wrote Testament, an autofictional novel in which she imagines her death and at the same time, bequeaths to her friends and family ... Read more

The Bear Woman

By Karolina Ramqvist
Translated by Saskia Vogel

A writer’s obsession with the story of Marguerite de la Rocque leads her to question how women’s stories have been told, and how she will tell her own.

Blending autofiction and the essay, The Bear Woman takes us on a journey of feminism and literary detective work that spans ... Read more

The Far Himalaya

By Phillip Ernest & Phillip Ernest

Young and homeless on the streets of Toronto, Benjamin Doheney is sustained by an unusual sources of strength: his devotion to Sanskrit, the ancient literary language of India. Together with Aditi, a student of Sanskrit at the University of Toronto, he dreams of a future with ... Read more

The Red Album

By Chris Eaton

In the tradition of Borges, Nabakov, and Bolaño, The Red Album is a work of fiction that questions historical authenticity and authority. Divided into two parts, the book begins with an edited and footnoted narrative of dubious origins. In the second part, a section of "documents" ... Read more

The Red Album

By Stephen Collis

In the tradition of Borges, Nabakov, and Bolaño, The Red Album is a work of fiction that questions historical authenticity and authority. Divided into two parts, the book begins with an edited and footnoted narrative of dubious origins. In the second part, a section of "documents" ... Read more

The Willow Wren

By Philipp Schott, DVM

 

The touching and nuanced portrait of the rise and fall of Nazi Germany through the eyes of a resourceful German boy.

Ludwig is an odd and introverted child, growing up in Hitler’s Germany. While Ludwig’s father, Wilhelm, is a senior Nazi and a true believer, Ludwig escapes ... Read more