Books tagged: Amateur Sleuth

Showing 1-8 of 26 results

A Likely Story

By Eric Wright

As if Joe Barley doesn’t have enough on his mind. His job as a part-time instructor at Hambleton College is likely to be eliminated, and his partner, Carole, is expecting their first child. He’s also been assigned to find the identity of a mole in the English Department ... Read more

A Place in the Dark/ The Glamour of Evil

By Frank Lentricchia

This is a flip book with two novels: A Place In The Dark braids history, fiction and politics. It is set in Utica with substantial passages of painful, site-specific memories of the characters of both the Vietnam war and the American engagement in Iraq. These memories are carried ... Read more

An Image in the Lake

By Gail Bowen

 

From Arthur Ellis Award–winning, Grand Master of Crime Writers, and “the queen of Canadian crime fiction” (Winnipeg Free Press) comes the newest installment in the Joanne Kilbourn series

A dark secret threatens the future of the Shreve family

It’s August 24 and Joanne ... Read more

Between Rothko and 3 Windows

By Corrado Paina
Translated by Damiano Pietropaolo

Set in Toronto and Milan, Between Rothko and 3 Windows takes us into the inner vortex of cities evolving away from the imagined ethnic certainties of the past towards an unsettling, increasingly chaotic world in which we struggle to find a firm foothold on the ever-shifting ... Read more

Burning We Will Die, A

By Betty Guenette

Nurses traditionally care for bodies; they don't find murdered ones. Erin Rine, a gutsy, thirty-year-old nurse, inadvertently steps into murder when she trips over her patient's body. With her headstrong Aries personality, a black belt in taekwondo, and only fearing the unpredictable ... Read more

Cover Art

By Vanessa Westermann

Cover Art by Vanessa Westermann has all the hallmarks of a great summer read. ” — I’ve Read This
Charley Scott is thrilled to be running a summer pop-up gallery in cottage country. Returning to the lakeside village, not on vacation but as an artist, she’s determined ... Read more

Death and the Intern

By Jeremy Hanson-Finger

SHORTLISTED FOR THE KOBO EMERGING WRITER PRIZE

ScrubsThe Maltese Falcon and The Crying of Lot 49

Janwar Gupta, a brilliant but neurotic medical student intern, has a patient die under suspicious circumstances during his placement at the Ottawa Civic Hospital. Certain of his innocence, ... Read more

Fifty-Four Pigs

By Philipp Schott, DVM

 

“A delicious read. ” — Iona Whishaw, author of the Lane Winslow mystery series

For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place

A swine barn explodes near a lakeside town, putting veterinarian Dr. Peter Bannerman on ... Read more