Books tagged: Literary Essays

Showing 1-8 of 16 results

A Generous Spirit

Edited by Janice Gould

Finalist for the 2020 Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Fiction

A Generous Spirit: Selected Work by Beth Brant collects the writing of Beth Brant, Mohawk lesbian poet, essayist, and activist. During her life, Brant's work gave voice to an often unacknowledged Two-Spirit identity, ... Read more

AfriCANthology

Edited by A. Gregory Frankson

Truth spoken plainly and powerfully is difficult to dismiss and impossible to ignore. Edited with purpose by Greg Frankson, AfriCANthology: Perspectives of Black Canadian Poets brings together some of Canada's most influential dub, page, and spoken word poetic voices and gives ... Read more

Best Kind

By Robert Finley

In Best Kind, editor and essayist Robert Finley introduces twelve of the most exciting essay writers currently working in Newfoundland. Highlighting a varied and electrifying range of new voices, this groundbreaking anthology presents the first generation of island writers to ... Read more

Clark Blaise

Edited by J.R. (Tim) Struthers

This volume represents the first full-scale appreciation of Clark Blaise's writing in more than 25 years and the first comprehensive study of his now more than 20 books. Included are previously published essays by, among others, Robert Lecker, Alexander MacLeod, Catherine Sheldrick ... Read more

Colourless Green Ideas Sleep Furiously

By Mark Frutkin

Colourless Green Ideas Sleep Furiously is a collection of short essays that are pithy, aphoristic, and full of fresh insights and witticisms in the manner of Kafka's Parables and Paradoxes, Eduardo Galeano's Book of Embraces, or Pascal's Pensées. "Mark Frutkin has distilled ... Read more

Dad Bod

By Cian Cruise

A brisk, humorous collection of essays that redefines the mythos of fatherhood depicted in film, television, and video games.

What do dads tell us about the world? Not your real dad, but dads in general. Dads are everywhere. Lurking in our movies, television shows, and video ... Read more

Erotics of Restraint, The

By Douglas Glover

Why do we read? What do we cherish in a book? What is the nature of a masterpiece? What do Alice Munro, Albert Camus, and the great Polish experimentalist Witold Gombrowicz have in common? In the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Kundera, Douglas Glover’s new essay collection ... Read more

How to Die: A Book About Being Alive

By Ray Robertson

A radical revaluation of how contemporary society perceives death—and an argument for how it can make us happy.

“He who would teach men to die would teach them to live,” writes Montaigne in Essais, and in How to Die: A Book about Being Alive, Ray Robertson takes up the ... Read more