Books tagged: Literary Essays

Showing 1-8 of 11 results

A Generous Spirit

Edited by Janice Gould

Finalist for the 2020 Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Fiction

A Generous Spirit: Selected Work by Beth Brant collects the writing of Beth Brant, Mohawk lesbian poet, essayist, and activist. During her life, Brant's work gave voice to an often unacknowledged Two-Spirit identity, ... Read more

Best Kind

By Robert Finley

In Best Kind, editor and essayist Robert Finley introduces twelve of the most exciting essay writers currently working in Newfoundland. Highlighting a varied and electrifying range of new voices, this groundbreaking anthology presents the first generation of island writers to ... Read more

Clark Blaise

Edited by J.R. (Tim) Struthers

This volume represents the first full-scale appreciation of Clark Blaise's writing in more than 25 years and the first comprehensive study of his now more than 20 books. Included are previously published essays by, among others, Robert Lecker, Alexander MacLeod, Catherine Sheldrick ... Read more

Erotics of Restraint, The

By Douglas Glover

Why do we read? What do we cherish in a book? What is the nature of a masterpiece? What do Alice Munro, Albert Camus, and the great Polish experimentalist Witold Gombrowicz have in common? In the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Kundera, Douglas Glover’s new essay collection ... Read more

How to Die: A Book About Being Alive

By Ray Robertson

A radical revaluation of how contemporary society perceives death—and an argument for how it can make us happy.

“He who would teach men to die would teach them to live,” writes Montaigne in Essais, and in How to Die: A Book about Being Alive, Ray Robertson takes up the ... Read more

Persephone's Children

By Rowan McCandless

After years of secrecy and silence, Rowan McCandless leaves an abusive relationship and rediscovers her voice and identity through writing.

She was never to lie to him. She was never to leave him; and she was never supposed to tell.

Persephone’s Children chronicles Rowan McCandless’s ... Read more

Shifting Paradigms

By Ewan Whyte

Continuing from Desire Lines, Shifting Paradigms is a collection of essays on art, poetry and culture--both high and low--gathered from the astute critical work of Toronto writer Ewan Whyte. Included: essays on Yayoi Kusama, Anish Kapoor, Janet Cardiff, Damien Hirst, Viktor Mitic, ... Read more