Books tagged: Literary Essays

Showing 8 of 8 results

A Generous Spirit

Edited by Janice Gould

Finalist for the 2020 Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Fiction

A Generous Spirit: Selected Work by Beth Brant collects the writing of Beth Brant, Mohawk lesbian poet, essayist, and activist. During her life, Brant's work gave voice to an often unacknowledged Two-Spirit identity, ... Read more

Best Kind

By Robert Finley

In Best Kind, editor and essayist Robert Finley introduces twelve of the most exciting essay writers currently working in Newfoundland. Highlighting a varied and electrifying range of new voices, this groundbreaking anthology presents the first generation of island writers to ... Read more

Clark Blaise

Edited by J.R. (Tim) Struthers

This volume represents the first full-scale appreciation of Clark Blaise's writing in more than 25 years and the first comprehensive study of his now more than 20 books. Included are previously published essays by, among others, Robert Lecker, Alexander MacLeod, Catherine Sheldrick ... Read more

Erotics of Restraint, The

By Douglas Glover

Why do we read? What do we cherish in a book? What is the nature of a masterpiece? What do Alice Munro, Albert Camus, and the great Polish experimentalist Witold Gombrowicz have in common? In the tradition of Nabokov, Calvino, and Kundera, Douglas Glover’s new essay collection ... Read more

How to Die: A Book About Being Alive

By Ray Robertson

A radical revaluation of how contemporary society perceives death—and an argument for how it can make us happy.

“He who would teach men to die would teach them to live,” writes Montaigne in Essais, and in How to Die: A Book about Being Alive, Ray Robertson takes up the ... Read more

Somewhere

Edited by Lorna Jane Harvey

An inspiring and timely collection of stories about migration, written from twenty women’s perspectives.

Somewhere is an inspiring collection of stories about migration. Written from twenty women’s perspectives, it brings a refreshing and uniting voice to this compelling ... Read more

Still Living the Edges

Edited by Diane Driedger

Still Living the Edges: A Disabled Women's Reader is a follow up to Diane Driedger's 2010 anthology, Living the Edges: A Disabled Women's Reader. Ten years after the publication of the first book, the lives of women with disabilities have not changed much, as disabled women ... Read more

The Legacy of Mothers

Edited by Erella Shadmi

The many powerful voices of the international contributors to this anthology argue that motherhood may be the foundation of alternative human logic, a new socio-political order, a new value system, and a way of liberating mothers themselves. This book does not present a utopia ... Read more