Books tagged: Fiction: General & Literary

Showing 1-8 of 40 results

A Roll of the Bones

By Trudy J. Morgan-Cole

**CANADA BOOK AWARD WINNER**

In 1610, John Guy established a small colony in Cupids, Newfoundland, on the very edge of a world unknown to Europeans. Two years later, he brought a shipment of supplies to his all-male settlement: 70 goats, 10 heifers, 2 bulls, and 16 women. A Roll ... Read more

Aberhart Summer, The

By Bruce Allen Powe

It is the summer of 1935, and while young Doug Sayers is spending the summer going to movies and sneaking cigarettes and his friend Babe Roothe is discovering women, William Aberhart and the Social Credit Party are promising twenty-five dollars a month for everyone in Alberta. ... Read more

Always Brave, Sometimes Kind

By Katie Bickell

An exciting debut novel told in connected short stories that captures the diverse and complicated networks of people who stretch our communities—sometimes farther than we know.

 

Set in the cities, reserves, and rural reaches of Alberta, Katie Bickell’s debut novel is told ... Read more

An Exile's Perfect Letter

By Larry Mathews

Sixty-two-year-old English professor Hugh Norman is getting ready to retire and just going through the motions. He’s detached, irreverent, and quite pleased with himself. But then he learns of a long-lost friend’s sudden death, and shockingly discovers a body while walking ... Read more

Aubrey McKee

By Alex Pugsley

I am from Halifax, salt-water city, a place of silted genius, sudden women, figures floating in all waters. “People from Halifax are all famous,” my sister Faith has said. “Because everyone in Halifax knows each other’s business. ”

From basement rec rooms to midnight ... Read more

Bad Ideas

By Missy Marston

 

Wildly funny and wonderfully moving, Bad Ideas is about just that — a string of bad ideas — and the absurdity of love

Trudy works nights in a linen factory, avoiding romance and sharing the care of her four-year-old niece with Trudy’s mother, Claire. Claire still pines ... Read more

Bitter Paradise

By Ross Pennie

 

Fans of Bones and Coroner will love Dr. Zol Szabo, a doctor who is out to solve medical mysteries before it’s too late

After weeks of torture at the hands of Syria’s secret police, the bombing of his villa in the ancient city of Aleppo, and the murder of his daughter, trauma ... Read more

Breaking Boundaries

Edited by Lori Shwydky
Introduction by Robin Stevenson

An anthology of fiction, memoir, and poetry by LGBTQ2 writers (Canada-born, immigrated or refugee). The common thread throughout is that for LGBTQ2 people, Canada is the place to be. Nominated for the 2019 GEORGE RYGA AWARD - an annual literary prize for social awareness. Authors: ... Read more