Books tagged: Classic Crime Fiction

Showing 1-8 of 9 results

A Dance of Cranes

By Steve Burrows

Two separate continents, one shared fate: Death knows no boundaries.

Newly estranged from his girlfriend, Lindy, Inspector Domenic Jejeune has returned to Canada to the news that his brother, Damian, has gone missing in Wood Buffalo National Park while conducting field research ... Read more

April on Paris Street

By Anna Dowdall

Most Anticipated Fall Fiction from 49th Shelf

Your basic damsel-in-distress gig sounds perfect to private investigator Ashley Smeeton, who’s got her own personal and professional struggles in Montreal. Against the backdrop of the winter Carnaval, the job first takes her to ... Read more

Bitter Paradise

By Ross Pennie

 

Fans of Bones and Coroner will love Dr. Zol Szabo, a doctor who is out to solve medical mysteries before it’s too late

After weeks of torture at the hands of Syria’s secret police, the bombing of his villa in the ancient city of Aleppo, and the murder of his daughter, trauma ... Read more

Fenian Street

By Anne Emery

 

An unsolved murder investigation in 1970s Ireland from “one of Canada’s finest novelists. ” — Ottawa Review of Books

Shay Rynne grew up in the Corporation Flats — public housing — in Fenian Street, Dublin. He has always toyed with the idea of joining the Garda Síochána, ... Read more

Fifty-Four Pigs

By Philipp Schott, DVM

 

“A delicious read. ” — Iona Whishaw, author of the Lane Winslow mystery series

For readers of The Thursday Murder Club comes a lighthearted mystery with an incredible sense of place

A swine barn explodes near a lakeside town, putting veterinarian Dr. Peter Bannerman on ... Read more

Postmark Berlin

By Anne Emery

 

From two-time winner of the Arthur Ellis Award comes a new mystery that will keep readers guessing along with Collins and Burke. From Halifax, Nova Scotia all the way to Berlin, Germany, Father Brennan Burke searches for answers in the murder of a parishioner and finds that ... Read more

Snake in the Raspberry Patch, A

By Joanne Jackson

It is the summer of 1971 and Liz takes care of her four sisters while waiting to meet the fifth Murphy child: a boy. And yet, something is not right. Adults tensely whisper in small groups, heads shaking. Her younger sister, Rose seems more annoying, always flashing her camera ... Read more

The Verdict on Each Man Dead

By David Whellams

The fast-paced third volume in the series

Peter Cammon, now retired from New Scotland Yard, is drawn into a confrontation with evil in a most unlikely setting. The former chief inspector finds himself in the suburbs of Salt Lake City, Utah, chasing a depraved man who may have ... Read more