Personal Growth

Showing 1-10 of 15 results

Breaking Out

By Kevin Alderson

Although society is becoming more tolerant of gay people, and even accepting of them in some places, gay people continue to suffer psychological damage caused by growing up in largely homophobic societies. How can gay people learn to love themselves when most of the signals ... Read more

Career Rookie

By Sarah Vermunt

 

A shot of encouragement, a kick in the ass, and a loving push for young people who have no idea what they want or how to get it

Career Rookie is a book for every grad, student, and 20-something who feels lost, overwhelmed, and anxious. It tackles the emotional and logistical ... Read more

Careergasm

By Sarah Vermunt
Narrator Christine Brubaker

 

Rousing, bullsh*t-free advice for aspiring career changers

What is a careergasm? Does it feel as good as it sounds?

You bet your ass it does. A Careergasm happens when your work feels good. Really good. Like a groovin’ Marvin Gaye song. Like you and your work belong together, ... Read more

Cool to Be Kind

By Val Litwin, Chris Bratseth, Brad Stokes, and Erik Hanson
Introduction by Catherine Ryan Hyde

In August of 2002, four twenty-something friends in Canada packed a motor home and embarked upon a three-month nonprofit marathon known coast to coast as The Extreme Kindness Tour. Their mission: to commit as many random acts of kindness in as many communities as possible. This ... Read more

Happy Go Money

By Melissa Leong

 

The Social’s finance expert connects money and happiness in this fresh, feel-good guide to financial well-being

Everything tells us that what will make us happy can be bought, whether it’s the latest gadgets, renovated kitchens, or luxury goods. But research has shown that ... Read more

In Praise of Retreat

By Kirsteen MacLeod

 

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.

An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent

From pilgrim paths ... Read more

Live Your Life's Purpose

By Dorothy Ratusny

Knowing your life's purpose allows you to feel intrinsic happiness. Living your life's purpose evokes a true sense of fulfillment as you share your innate gifts with the rest of the world. Whatever stage you may be at in your journey of growth and evolution, Live Your Life's ... Read more