Noir

Showing 1-10 of 17 results

Body on Mount Royal, The

By Montrose David
Introduction by Kevin Burton Smith

Finally, after 58 years The Body on Mount Royal is back in print, starring hard-drinking private dick, Russell Teed.

From the back cover of the 1953 edition:
Take a brutally beaten body, a lonely spot on Montreal's famous mountain, and a buxum brunette whose embrace brings treachery. ... Read more

Border Markers

By Jenny Ferguson

After the accidental death of a teenaged friend, the Lansing family has split along fault lines previously hidden under a patina of suburban banality. Every family has secrets, but for the Lansings those secrets end up propelling them in different directions away from their ... Read more

Cape Diamond

By Ron Corbett

Cape Diamond, the second book in the Frank Yakabuski Mystery series, is atmospheric and action-packed. Set near the Northern Divide — as was the first installment, Edgar Award nominee (Best Paperback Original), Ragged Lake — the book opens with Yakabuski called to investigate ... Read more

Carpenter from Montreal, The

By George Fetherling & George Fetherling

Worlds collide when a naïve young heiress takes a tumble for a bootlegger with a murderous temper and his business partner falls in love with Montreal, the way Americans are prone to do. One world war has ended and a second is in the wings. In the space between, the neon-powered ... Read more

Honey

By Brenda Brooks

 

“Sinuous and captivating. ”— Foreword Reviews

Shortlisted for the 2019 Staunch Book Prize

For readers of Sharp Objects comes a thrilling modern noir with a fresh narrative voice that explores coming of age, desire, and the lengths we’ll go to for love

When 24-year-old ... Read more

Only Pretty Damned

By Niall Howell

Niall Howell's Only Pretty Damned is a taut noir that takes you behind the big top, revealing rough and tumble characters, murderous plots, and crooked schemes designed to keep Rowland's World Class Circus afloat for another season. When Toby, former trapeze artist turned disgruntled ... Read more

Pillow

By Andrew Battershill
Narrator Andrew Bigelow

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2016 SCOTIABANK GILLER PRIZE

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2016 KOBO EMERGING WRITER PRIZE

Most of the things Pillow really liked to do were obviously morally wrong. He wasn't an idiot; clearly it was wrong to punch people in the face for money. But there had been an ... Read more

Portals

By Bill Haugland

Portals takes the reader down a dark path into a dystopian realm of alternate realities and horror. Newspaper reporter Colin Dalhousie tracks scores of human disappearances dating back to the mid-1800s. What he discovers reveals a chilling pattern of events.

This dystopian tale ... Read more

Poughkeepsie Shuffle

By Dietrich Kalteis

Jeff Nichols — a man strong of conviction but weak of character — is fresh out of the Don Jail, looking for work — any kind of work — and a way back into Ann Ryan’s good graces. She waited for his return from prison but is quickly running short on patience. An ex-inmate ... Read more