Inspiration & Personal Growth

Showing 10 of 10 results

Bindy's Moon

By Lloyd Ratzlaff

In a series of reflections focussed on his uneducated yet hard-working Mennonite family and touching on childhood exploits from shoplifting and go-kart racing to the juvenile fear of dying (which spontaneously arises during the rehearsal for an elementary school Christmas concert), ... Read more

Caring is Everything

By David Irvine

"Caring for Everything" brilliantly fosters the notion that all of us, regardless of our education, social or economic status, can sincerely make a difference and bring joy to others, ourselves, and the community in which we serve.

Conscious De-Stress Guide

By Lise Leblanc

Are you feeling worn out? Overextended? Stressed out? You're not alone - we all get stressed and overwhelmed at times . .. but how do we know when it has gone too far?

As we face a global stress-test of epic proportions, this sense of destabilization and uncertainty is causing ... Read more

Conscious Grief & Loss Guide

By Lise Leblanc

None of us want to experience the loss of a loved one, but the sad reality is we've all experienced it, and it is certain that grief will come knocking many times throughout our lives. A psychotherapist for more than twenty years, Lise Leblanc has learned that we are rarely ... Read more

How to Die: A Book About Being Alive

By Ray Robertson

A radical revaluation of how contemporary society perceives death—and an argument for how it can make us happy.

“He who would teach men to die would teach them to live,” writes Montaigne in Essais, and in How to Die: A Book about Being Alive, Ray Robertson takes up the ... Read more

In Praise of Retreat

By Kirsteen MacLeod

 

For readers of Walden, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, A Book of Silence, A Gift from the Sea and other celebrations of the inner adventure.

An utterly engaging dive into our modern ways of retreat — where we go, why we’re drawn, and how it’s urgent

From pilgrim paths ... Read more

The Healing Power of Singing

By Emm Gryner

 

Vocal health tips, stories from the tour bus, and action items to improve your voice and boost your self-confidence from an award-winning musician and life coach

Performing with David Bowie, surviving the murky depths of the music business, enduring a painful divorce, and ... Read more

The Light Streamed Beneath It

By Shawn Hitchins

 

A Publishers Weekly Notable Book
49th Shelf Recommended Read

A modern gay memoir exploring love, death, pain, and community that will resonate long after the last page.

“This is an embodied story of love, loss, and recovery — raw, candid, and filled with a sense of awe ... Read more

Voice in the Wild

By Laurie Sarkadi

After plans to live in Africa shatter, young journalist Laurie Sarkadi moves to the Subarctic city of Yellowknife seeking wilderness and adventure. She covers the changing socio-political worlds of Dene and Inuit in the late ‘80s—catching glimpses of their traditional, animal-dependent ... Read more

Writing Poetry To Save Your Life

By Maria Mazziotti Gillan

What I hope to accomplish in this book is to give writing prompts that will help you to get past all the outside influences that keep you from believing in yourself and in your ability to write. In order to write, you need to get rid of notions about language, poetic form, and ... Read more