The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass

By (author): Adan Jerreat-Poole

  • A fresh new voice in queer YA fantasy, writing about non-binary characters and queer romance
  • First novel in a duology set in a world of witches, ghosts, and misfits fighting to save the Earth, for fans of The Hazel Wood and Nevernight
  • Author is a PhD candidate working in queer theory and disability studies, whose writing has appeared in The New Quarterly, Qwerty Magazine, The Steel Chisel, and Soliloquies
AUTHOR

Adan Jerreat-Poole

Adan Jerreat-Poole is a reader and writer who loves all things fantasy and feminist. They study disability and queerness in popular culture. Adan lives in Kingston, Ontario


Reviews

In the midst of this dark, murderous fantasy, debut author Jerreat-Poole explores complex themes of oppression, abuse, belonging, and identity. A raw and chaotic force of magic.
– Kirkus Reviews

A unique, gripping, engaging book by a voice that the genre has been waiting for. The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass is worth your time and your attention.
– Seanan McGuire, award-winning author of the Wayward Children series

Strange and riveting…The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass is an appealing and spooky fantasy.
– Foreword Reviews

…the tight plotting and myriad details will carry teens along on an imaginative adventure.
– School Library Journal

Explores the queer potential of witches to evoke themes of difference, chosen families, and becoming one?s true self in worlds both magical and mundane… Jerreat-Poole?s fantasy world is chaotic but voluminous, and readers who love the stuff of magic will find plenty to spark the imagination.
– Quill & Quire

In The Girl of Hawthorn and Glass, Jerreat-Poole creates worlds and characters that are simultaneously magical and infinitely human.
– Tanya Boteju, author of Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens

A moving, lyrical debut. Fantasy readers will fall in love with Jerreat-Poole’s sharp-tongued assassin and diverse, vividly rendered magical world.
– Heather Fawcett, author of Even the Darkest Stars

Battle Angel Alita meets The Hazel Wood in this sharp-as-nails urban fable that grabs you immediately with its hooked claw and refuses to let go. Jerreat-Poole’s prose crackles and sings on the page as a woven spell, carefully cast.
– S.M. Beiko, author of The Realms of Ancient trilogy

Awards

There are no awards found for this book.
Excerpts & Samples ×
Enter a wicked cool fantasy world of witches and their assassins, where a group of renegades battle to capture the Heart of the Coven.

?A unique, gripping, engaging book by a voice that the genre has been waiting for.? ? Seanan McGuire, author of the Wayward Children series


Even teenage assassins have dreams.

Eli isn?t just a teenage girl ? she?s a made-thing the witches created to hunt down ghosts in the human world. Trained to kill with her seven living blades, Eli is a flawless machine, a deadly assassin. But when an assignment goes wrong, Eli starts to question everything she was taught about both worlds, the Coven, and her tyrannical witch-mother.

Terrified that she?ll be unmade for her mistake, Eli seeks refuge with a group of human and witch renegades. To earn her place, she must prove herself by capturing the Heart of the Coven. With the help of two humans and a girl who smells like the sea, Eli is going to get answers ? and earn her freedom.
  • A fresh new voice in queer YA fantasy, writing about non-binary characters and queer romance
  • First novel in a duology set in a world of witches, ghosts, and misfits fighting to save the Earth, for fans of The Hazel Wood and Nevernight
  • Author is a PhD candidate working in queer theory and disability studies, whose writing has appeared in The New Quarterly, Qwerty Magazine, The Steel Chisel, and Soliloquies

Reader Reviews

Details

Dimensions:

328 Pages
8in * 5in * 0.8in
290gr

Published:

September 12, 2020

City of Publication:

Toronto

Country of Publication:

CA

Publisher:

Dundurn Press

ISBN:

9781459746817

Featured In:

All Books

Language:

eng

No author posts found.

Related Blog Posts

There are no posts with this book.