Blood Atonement

By (author): S.M. Freedman

A GLOBE AND MAIL TOP 100 BEST BOOKS OF 2022 ? HOWARD ENGEL AWARD FOR BEST CRIME NOVEL SET IN CANADA 2023 FINALIST

?Freedman grips right out of the gate with dual timeline narratives that weave together more and more tightly until they meld into a mind-bending twist of a climax.? ? LORETH ANNE WHITE, bestselling author of The Patient?s Secret

In a riveting psychological thriller for readers of Lisa Unger and Karin Slaughter, Grace?s healing solitude is shattered when she becomes a suspect in a gruesome series of murders.

Grace DeRoche escaped the fundamentalist Mormon compound of Brigham and worked to prosecute its leaders. But when loyalists, including her own family, commit mass suicide to avoid jail, Grace retreats into solitude. Racked with guilt and suffering from dissociative identity disorder brought on by childhood abuse, Grace?s life is fragmented and full of blind spots. Dissociative triggers are everywhere, and she never knows when an alter personality will take the reins.

When other Brigham escapees die under suspicious circumstances, Grace?s tenuous hold on reality crumbles. Notes left at each scene quote scripture and accuse the deceased of committing sins so grievous that atonement can only be achieved through the spilling of blood. As evidence mounts against her and one of her alter personalities becomes the prime suspect, Grace must determine if she?s a murderer ? or the next victim.

AUTHOR

S.M. Freedman

S.M. Freedman is the author of The Faithful, Impact Winter, and The Day She Died. She studied at the American Academy of Dramatic Arts and worked as a private investigator on the not-so-mean streets of Vancouver, where she lives.


Reviews

A wild ride exploring a fractured spirit and a community that must pay for their sins.
– Tanya Eby, USA Today bestselling author

The Handmaid?s Tale meets All about Eve in this dark and disturbing thriller about a polygamist cult and the children who sought to escape it. At once riveting and heartbreaking, Freedman provides readers with both characters and an ending they won?t soon forget.
– C.S. O?Cinneide, Edgar-nominated author of the Candace Starr series

S.M. Freedman keeps the reader guessing and the pages turning in Blood Atonement, a dark and poignant psychological thriller/procedural with a cult backdrop. Freedman grips right out of the gate with dual timeline narratives that weave together more and more tightly until they meld into a mind-bending twist of a climax.


– Loreth Anne White, bestselling author of The Patient?s Secret

Past wounds and present danger twist together in this dark, propulsive tale that will grip you long into the night. A bloody good book with a heart-rattling end.
– Eddy Boudel Tan, author of The Rebellious Tide

S.M. Freedman is a master of psychological suspense.
– Sam Wiebe, award-winning author of Hell and Gone

Visceral prose matches emotional, compelling storytelling in this heart-wrenching thriller inspired by real events.
– Globe and Mail

Awards

There are no awards found for this book.
Excerpts & Samples ×
A GLOBE AND MAIL TOP 100 BEST BOOKS OF 2022 ? HOWARD ENGEL AWARD FOR BEST CRIME NOVEL SET IN CANADA 2023 FINALIST

?Freedman grips right out of the gate with dual timeline narratives that weave together more and more tightly until they meld into a mind-bending twist of a climax.? ? LORETH ANNE WHITE, bestselling author of The Patient?s Secret

In a riveting psychological thriller for readers of Lisa Unger and Karin Slaughter, Grace?s healing solitude is shattered when she becomes a suspect in a gruesome series of murders.


Grace DeRoche escaped the fundamentalist Mormon compound of Brigham and worked to prosecute its leaders. But when loyalists, including her own family, commit mass suicide to avoid jail, Grace retreats into solitude. Racked with guilt and suffering from dissociative identity disorder brought on by childhood abuse, Grace?s life is fragmented and full of blind spots. Dissociative triggers are everywhere, and she never knows when an alter personality will take the reins.

When other Brigham escapees die under suspicious circumstances, Grace?s tenuous hold on reality crumbles. Notes left at each scene quote scripture and accuse the deceased of committing sins so grievous that atonement can only be achieved through the spilling of blood. As evidence mounts against her and one of her alter personalities becomes the prime suspect, Grace must determine if she?s a murderer ? or the next victim.

Reader Reviews

Details

Dimensions:

416 Pages
8in * 5in * 1in
320gr

Published:

October 18, 2022

City of Publication:

Toronto

Country of Publication:

CA

Publisher:

Dundurn Press

ISBN:

9781459750241

9781459750258 – PDF

9781459750265 – EPUB

Book Subjects:

FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological

Featured In:

Globe Top 100 – 2022

Language:

eng

No author posts found.

Related Blog Posts

There are no posts with this book.

Other books by S.M. Freedman