The Girl in the Well Is Me

By Karen Rivers

The Girl in the Well Is Me
  • Currently 0 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thank you for rating this book!

You have already rated this book, you can only rate it once!

Your rating has been changed, thanks for rating!

Log in to rate this book.


Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued — or possibly not. As hours pass, the ... Read more


Overview

Newcomer Kammie Summers has fallen into a well during a (fake) initiation into a club whose members have no intention of letting her join. Now Kammie’s trapped in the dark, growing increasingly claustrophobic, and waiting to be rescued — or possibly not. As hours pass, the reality of Kammie’s predicament mixes with her memories of the highlights and lowlights of her life so far, including the reasons her family moved to this new town in the first place. And as she begins to run out of oxygen, Kammie starts to imagine she has company, including a French-speaking coyote and goats that just might be zombies.

Author Karen Rivers has created a unique narrator with an authentic, sympathetic, sharp, funny voice who tells a story perfect for fans of Flora and Ulysses, Reign Rein, and Counting by 7s. The Girl in the Well is Me will have readers laughing and crying and laugh-crying over the course of its physically and emotionally suspenseful, utterly believable events.

Karen Rivers

Karen Rivers has written novels for adult, middle-grade, and young adult audiences. Her books have been nominated for a wide range of literary awards, including the Silver Birch Award, the Stellar Book Award, the White Pine Award, and the Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize. When she's not writing, reading, or visiting schools, she can usually be found hiking in the forest that flourishes behind her tiny old house in Victoria, British Columbia, where she lives with her two kids, two dogs, two birds, and two fish.

Reviews

“I dare you to pick up this riveting novel without reading straight through to its heart-stopping conclusion. ”

Katherine Applegate, Newberry Medal-winning author of <i>The One and Only Ivan</i>

“What Rivers has done, seemingly impossible, is to take an existential, almost tortuous internal dialogue, of the type of some of the world’s best literature (think: Sartre) and make it entirely relevant, even accessible, to young readers … utterly brilliant. ” ****/4

“A gripping story that doesn’t shy away from the dark places but explores them with heart, humor, and light. ”

Kate Messner, author of <i>All the Answers</i>

“Funny, surreal, occasionally heartbreaking … a compulsively readable story. ”

“Rivers has woven an incredibly heartbreaking tale of a tragic, unforgettable event in a young girl’s life, told in a powerfully moving way … [she] is an extraordinary writer, with a rare and beautiful way of using her prose to both evoke deep emotion, and paint an extremely realistic picture. This is the type of novel that will stay with readers long after they close the book. ” E for Excellent

“A brilliantly revealed, sometimes even funny, exploration of courage, the will to live, and the importance of being true to oneself. The catastrophe draws readers in, and the universality of spunky Kammie’s life-affirming journey will engage a wide audience. Moving, suspenseful, and impossible to put down. ” Starred review

“Rivers has a way of hijacking a reader’s brain, making them feel as if they are experiencing the same things Kammie is. ”

Reader Reviews

Tell us what you think!

Sign Up or Sign In to add your review or comment.