Books like Music to your Ears

Books like Music to your Ears
  • Currently 0 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Sign-up or sign-in to rate this book.


With International Music Day on October 1st, ringing in the month, we're celebrating with this hefty list of auto/biographies, novels, poetry collections, and even a few book/CD combos we've assembled for your reading – and listening – pleasure. View books in this list

Tagged: music
Showing 1-10 of 29 results

Jim Guthrie

By Andrew Hood

Jim Guthrie: Who Needs What tells the story of a musician whose twenty-year career has been spent either at the forefront of Canada’s indie rock renaissance or in the background of some of the most popular indie games, films, and ad campaigns of the past decade. Through interviews ... Read more

The Dears

By Lorraine Carpenter

Over a decade after the release of their first album, The Dears have weathered the indie fringes, the collapse of the music industry as we knew it and the near implosion of the band itself, with their creative vision and gang dynamic intact. The Dears: Lost in the Plot looks ... Read more

The Deadly Snakes

By J.B. Staniforth

The Deadly Snakes: Real Rock and Roll Tonight charts the rise and gentle fall of Canada’s greatest band. Unwilling to bow to industry demands, the Deadly Snakes instead made records they were proud of and played music by their own rules. From their chaotic teenage beginnings ... Read more

Wooden Stars

By Malcolm Fraser

The Juno award-winning Wooden Stars both epitomized and transcended the sound of mid-90s indie rock. One of Canada’s greatest bands, they helped build a scene whose members would go on to be associated with some of the country’s most revered acts including Julie Doiron, ... Read more

NoMeansNo

By Mark Black

NoMeansNo: Going Nowhere, looks at a band whose career has spanned three decades, 14 albums and produced an alter ego that’s become as much a part of the Canadian consciousness as SCTV. Through interviews with band members, bit players and fans, the book will explore how one ... Read more

Gods of the Hammer

By Geoff Pevere

'Teenage Head changed the face of music in this country. I would not be who I am today without their first record . .. In 1979 they were the only band that mattered. ’—Hugh Dillon

In the late 1970s and early 1980s, no Canadian band rocked harder, louder or to more hardcore ... Read more

Young Neil

By Sharry Wilson

Young Neil is a detailed chronological narrative of the early life of iconic Canadian musician Neil Young. Exploring a time in this Rock and Roll Hall of Famer’s life that has yet to be documented with such depth of research, Young Neil is an exhaustive document of his “Sugar ... Read more

Lyrics and Poems, 1997-2012

By John K. Samson

Often cited as one of the finest contemporary lyricists, singer, songwriter and poet John K. Samson captures the essential images of contemporary life. Whether on the streets of his beloved and bewildering hometown of Winnipeg, an outpost in Antarctica, or a room in an Edward ... Read more

Joni Mitchell

By Malka Marom

 

When singer, musician, and broadcast journalist Malka Marom had the opportunity to interview Joni Mitchell in 1973, she was eager to reconnect with the performer she’d first met late one night in 1966 at a Yorkville coffeehouse. More conversations followed over the next ... Read more

Elvis Is King

By Richard Crouse

 

An explosive, groundbreaking album that crowned a new king of rock in just 33 minutes

Before Elvis Costello was one of Rolling Stone’s greatest artists of all time, before he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, he was Declan P. McManus, an office drone with ... Read more