In Review: The Week of September 16th

September 21, 2019

This week we officially turned five and threw ourselves a week-long book party in celebration, took an armchair walking tour of the urban forest, tsked at some ill-advised bookmarks, and more.

See more details below
Tagged: in review

header_new_InReview

WeekOf

 

 

 

 

 

On the Blog

 

26F66600-D1C3-4066-A359-1BB970EB07A4

~ All Lit Up turned five and we've got the week-long celebration hangover to prove it with #ALUturns5, which included 5 + 5 of of some of our fave books this year.

~ We explored Vancouver's east-side streets, which set the backdrop for Norman Ravvin's The Girl Who Stole Everything (Linda Leith Publishing), a novel that deals with the relationship between prewar Polish shtetl life and Jewish lives today

~ Ariel Gordon walked us through the process of getting Treed (Wolsak and Wynn) an essay collection about the urban forest, published: "I’m glad that my book has helped people to see the trees around them in a new light."

~ This week's #fridayreads was Nur Abdi's debut novel The Somali Camel Boy (Mawenzi House) for fans of Rabindranath Maharaj & Nuruddin Farah

 

 

 

Around the Web

 

EEXS3XmWkAAdn4s

~ At ALU HQ we've improvised some strange bookmarks, but these "Don't Have a Bookmark?" memes are not booklover safe

~ Goodbye Twitter, goodbye public safety, goodbye procrastination: if we lost the internet we'd all be doomed

~ In sad news, writer and conservationist Graeme Gibson died Wednesday at the age of 85. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Case You Missed It (last week)

 

Beautiful Books: Agnes, Murderess

 

In advance of #Inktober, we oohhed over the design inspo that went into Sarah Leavitt's Agnes, Murderess (Freehand Books), a graphic novel based on the bloody legend of roadhouse baddie Agnes MacVee.

 

tangles-agnes-pagecomparisson

 

 

 

 


Discuss


comments powered by Disqus